Outstanding Recognition Awards

The Texas Jewish Historical Society gives Outstanding Recognition Awards in two areas: (1) Significant Historic Site Preservation and (2) Extraordinary Historic Project.  An award is not necessarily given each year; only when a person merits it. See previous awardees below.

Teter Award photo


TJHS welcomes nominations that identify those individuals who have made a significant and lasting impact on the preservation of Texas Jewish history. The submission deadline is July 15 of each calendar year. 

For questions or further information, contact awardchair@txjhs.org

Click button below to access, print, and complete the Outstanding Recognition Award nomination form.  Send to TJHS as directed.

Previous Awardees

Significant Historic Site Preservation

Babette Samuels for her work in preserving Temple Beth El in Corsicana.  Presented in April 2019.

Leon and Mimi Toubin for the restoration of the Orthodox Synagogue orgininally in Brenham and moved to Austin in order to continue as a sacred place for Jewish worship services.  Presented in October 2014.

Extraordinary Historic Project

Hollace Ava Weiner for a body of creative work that furthered the mission of TJHS, including compiling and editing Lone Stars of David: Jews of Texas. Presented in April 2021.

Gertrude and Don Teter for cataloging and publishing work on Jewish gravesites.  Presented in April 2021.

Lynna Kay Shuffield for her work in documenting and preserving Jewish cemeteries in Texas. Presented in April 2019.

Rabbi Jimmy Kessler for the 1980 founding of the Texas Jewish Historical Society, which continues to educate, preserve, and archive Texas Jewish history.  Presented in April 2016.