Until recent times there was little social mixing between the congregations. The Reform/German Jews represented (to themselves at least) “high church” and would have little to do with the Orthodox/Eastern European Johnie-come-lately. Yet their separate histories closely paralleled each other. The building on the right, built in 1937, was much loved and abandoned for the new construction on the left in 1987 only after the neighborhood went bad among other things.
Miriam Buck came from a tiny town near Austin to visit her aunt and uncle in the big city of Tyler. An attractive and charming girl, she proved to be a big hit, extending her stay from one to six weeks, had a wonderful time, eventually married a local man, and now remembers 60 years of Temple Beth El history.